Universal Edition - Zoltán Kodály – Dances of Galánta

Zoltán Kodály

Zoltán Kodály
Dances of Galánta

Year of composition: 1933
Year of arrangement: 1978
Scored for: for symphonic band
Composer: Zoltán Kodály
Arranger: R. Mark Rogers
Instrumentation: 9 2 19 2 - 4 2 6 4 - timp, perc(3–4), alto sax(4), t.sax(2), bar.sax(1), cornet(9) euph(4), cb(1–2)
Instrumentation details:
1st flute(4) (+alto fl)
2nd flute(4)
1st oboe
2nd oboe
clarinet in Eb
solo-clarinet in A
solo-clarinet in Bb
1st clarinet in Bb(3)
2nd clarinet in Bb(4)
3rd clarinet in Bb(3)
alto clarinet in Eb(2)
bass clarinet in Bb(2)
contrabass clarinet in Bb
contra alto clarinet in Eb
1st alto saxophone in Eb(2)
2nd alto saxophone in Eb(2)
tenor saxophone in Bb(2)
baritone saxophone in Eb
1st bassoon
2nd bassoon
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
3rd horn in F
4th horn in F
1st cornet in Bb(3)
2nd cornet in Bb(3)
3rd cornet in Bb(3)
1st trumpet in Bb
2nd trumpet in Bb
1st trombone(2)
2nd trombone(2)
3rd trombone(2)
1st euphonium(2)
2nd euphonium(2)
1st percussion(2)
2nd percussion(1–2)
Duration: 13′
Dedication: Transcription is dedicated to the Spring Woods High School Band Houston, Texas
Bobby Wren, Director
Please check your input!

  • Kodály Zoltán | Arr.: R. Mark Rogers

  • Dances of Galánta

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Work Introduction

Zoltán Kodály composed Tänze aus Galánta for the celebration of the 80th anniversary of the Budapest Philharmonic Orchestra in 1933. He chose the themes from written librettos: “Galánta is a small, Hungarian market town on the old railway line between Vienna and Budapest, where the composer spent seven years of his childhood. At that time, a famous gipsy band lived there, who gave the child his first taste of ‘orchestral sound’. Several volumes of Hungarian dances were published in Vienna around 1800, including one ‘by various gipsies from Galánta’. The principle motifs of this work come from those volumes.” (Kodály, from the preface)

study score - Dances of Galánta

Dances of Galánta
  • for symphonic band
  • Edition type: study score

3 Ensembles that have played this work:

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.