Universal Edition - Zoltán Kodály – Háry János

Zoltán Kodály

Zoltán Kodály
Háry János

Opus: op. 15
Year of composition: 1925-1926
Subtitle: A Hungarian Folk Opera
Version: authorised shortened version 1983
Composer: Zoltán Kodály
Librettist: Béla Paulini; Zsolt Harsányi
Translator: Tony Butterfield; Olga Latham
Instrumentation: 3 2 3 2 - 4 3 3 1 - timp, perc(5), cel, pno, cornet(3), cimb, str
Instrumentation details:
1st flute (+picc)
2nd flute (+picc)
3rd flute (+picc)
1st oboe
2nd oboe
clarinet in Eb (+cl(A))
1st clarinet in Bb
2nd clarinet in Bb (+cl(A)
alto sax(Eb))
1st bassoon
2nd bassoon
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
3rd horn in F
4th horn in F
1st trumpet in C
2nd trumpet in C
3rd trumpet in C
1st cornet in Bb
2nd cornet in Bb
3rd cornet in Bb
1st trombone
2nd trombone
3rd trombone
bass tuba
violin I
violin II
Duration: 120′
Please check your input!

  • Kodály Zoltán

  • Háry János

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Work Introduction

In his musical comedy Háry János (1926), Zoltán Kodály turned the grotesque tales of the veteran hussar into a successful blend of realism and naivety, comedy and pathos. Kodály described Háry as “the personification of the Hungarian story-telling imagination.” In the popular suite, which was written in 1927, Kodály’s pictorial sound language breathes life into Háry’s fairytale-like daydreams.

Piano reduction – Háry János

  • Edition type: piano reduction
  • Language: English
  • UE17629
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-5156-1
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-04016-0
EUR 59,95

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Pay by credit card, PayPal and direct bank transfer (in some countries)

study score - Háry János

Háry János
  • Edition type: study score
  • Language: English

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.