Universal Edition - Zoltán Kodály – Serenade

Zoltán Kodály

Zoltán Kodály

Opus: op. 12
Year of composition: 1919-1920
Scored for: for 2 violins and viola
Composer: Zoltán Kodály
Instrumentation details:

Please check your input!

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Licensing Request

World Première

Location: Budapest / Hungary
Date: 08.04.1920
Main Soloists: Imre Waldbauer, vln, János Temesváry, vln, Egon Kornstein (Kenton), vla

Work Introduction

Kodály composed this piece for two violins and viola shortly after his String Quartet II, during a time when he was dealing with personal difficulties. Together with Bartók and Dohnányi, he had taken part in the so-called Music Directorship in the 1919 Hungarian Soviet Republic, for which he was resented after its suppression by the rightist regime of regent Horthy. He wrote only a handful of pieces during those years; after the Serenade, his Psalmus Hungaricus did not follow until 1923.

The Serenade’s path to international renown began in Salzburg in 1922, as part of a chamber-music festival which made musical history through the foundation of the IGNM. It was performed by the Amar-Hindemith Trio, Hindemith playing the viola. The work was discussed in publications including Universal Edition’s Musikblätter des Anbruch.

The Serenade impressed Bartók very much. “This composition,” he wrote, “is a genuine, modern product of Hungarian culture. It is extraordinarily rich in melodies with exotic characteristics influenced by the strong rubato of old peasant music.”

Pocket score – Serenade

  • for 2 violins and viola
  • Edition type: pocket score
  • Series: Philharmonia Pocket Scores
  • PH601
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-1746-8
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-01761-2
EUR 14,95

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Pay by credit card, PayPal and direct bank transfer (in some countries)

Set of parts – Serenade

  • for 2 violins and viola
  • Edition type: set of parts
  • UE6655
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-1754-3
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-01770-4
EUR 22,95

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Pay by credit card, PayPal and direct bank transfer (in some countries)

2 Ensembles that have played this work:

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.