Universal Edition - Zoltán Kodály – Spinnery

Zoltán Kodály

Zoltán Kodály

Year of composition: 1924/1932
Subtitle: A Scene from Transsylvanian Village Life
Composer: Zoltán Kodály
Text Source: based on traditional words
Original Language: Ungarisch
Translator: Richard Bletschacher; Elisabeth M. Lockwood; Bence Szabolcsi
Parts: Die Frau, Alt
Ihr Freier, Bariton
Nachbarin, Alt
Bursche, Tenor
Junges Mädchen, Sopran
Ein Vermummter in der Maske eines Flohs, Bariton
stumme Rollen (Ballett)
Choir: Frauenchor, Männerchor, Tänzer
Instrumentation: 2 2 2 2 - 4 2 3 0 - perc(4), str
Instrumentation details:
1st flute
2nd flute (+picc)
1st oboe
2nd oboe (+c.a)
1st clarinet in Bb
2nd clarinet in Bb (+cl(D))
1st bassoon
2nd bassoon
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
3rd horn in F
4th horn in F
1st trumpet in C
2nd trumpet in C
1st trombone
2nd trombone
3rd trombone
violin I
violin II
Scenery: 1
Duration: 70′
Please check your input!

  • Kodály Zoltán

  • Spinnery

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

World Première

Location: Ungarisches Königliches Opernhaus Budapest Budapest / Hungary
Date: 24.04.1932
Orchestra: Orchester des Ungarischen Königlichen Opernhauses Budapest
Conductor: Sergio Failoni
Scenery: László Márkus
Main Soloists: Mária Basilides - Die Frau, Imre Palló - Ihr Freier, Mária Budanovits - Nachbarin, Endre Rösler - Bursche, Anna Báthy - Junges Mädchen, Oszkár Maleczky - Ein Vermummter in der Maske eines Flohs

Piano reduction – Székely Fonó (Spinning Room)

  • for soprano, 2 altos, tenor and 2 baritone soloists, womens choir, mens choir, dancers and orchestra
  • Edition type: piano reduction
  • Language: German; English; Hungarian
  • UE10033
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-3831-9
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-01678-3
EUR 59,95

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Pay by credit card, PayPal and direct bank transfer (in some countries)

Choral score – Székely Fonó (Spinning Room)

  • for soprano, 2 alto, tenor and 2 baritone solists, womens choir, mans choir, dancers and orchestra
  • Edition type: choral score
  • Edition info: New edition by Richard Bletschacher - Orchestra material on hire
  • Language: German; English; Hungarian
  • UE30992
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-6156-0
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-05799-1
EUR 17,95

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Pay by credit card, PayPal and direct bank transfer (in some countries)

5 Ensembles that have played this work:

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.