Universal Edition - Zoltán Kodály – Summer Evening

Zoltán Kodály

Zoltán Kodály
Summer Evening

Year of composition: 1906
Scored for: for orchestra
Composer: Zoltán Kodály
Instrumentation: 1 2 2 2 - 2 0 0 0, str
Instrumentation details:
cor anglais
1st clarinet in Bb
2nd clarinet in Bb
1st bassoon
2nd bassoon
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
violin I
violin II
Table of Contents:
Sommerabend (für Orchester)
Duration: 18′
Dedication: ad Arturo Toscanini
"... Is etenim saepenumero me adhortatus est ..."
Please check your input!

  • Kodály Zoltán

  • Summer Evening

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt


World Première

Location: Budapest / Hungary
Date: 22.10.1906
Orchestra: Orchester des Ungarischen Königlichen Opernhauses Budapest
Conductor: István Kerner

Work Introduction

If one surveys occasionally the own creation from a critical point of view, one recognizes clearer than any stranger all faults and imperfections of the work. This and that would succeed better today, if one only could do it once again!

But the former self appears as a stranger in this work and it seldom occurs, that we have the courage to demolish the statue, in order to refound it. I wrote this work first in 1906. After two performances it was put aside. If I should succeed today to remove the ancient failures, I shall have to thank for it to a great master, whose example and request have roused again in me this feeling of responsibility and this constant dissatisfaction, which want to begin all again.

The title means only that the work was conceived on summer evenings at newly cut corn fields and at the murmuring Adriatic waves. It may remain as reminiscence.

The original tone-colour has remained unaltered: the instruments are the same, only the 3rd Horn was removed.

The musical material is in general the ancient one; only it achieves perhaps better in his new form the aspired character of Chladni’s figures.

This new shape requires no further explanation:

Questo sonetto non divido, perocchè assai lo manifesta la sua ragione.

Zoltán Kodály

Pocket score – Sommerabend (Summer Evening)

Diese Ausgabe der Philharmonia Taschenpartituren-Reihe beinhaltet Kodálys Orchesterwerk „Sommerabend" von 1906, gewidmet dem Dirigenten Arturo Toscanini.

  • for orchestra
  • Edition type: pocket score
  • Series: Philharmonia Pocket Scores
  • PH216
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-3600-1
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-02071-1
EUR 21,50

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Pay by credit card, PayPal and direct bank transfer (in some countries)

full score - Summer Evening

Summer Evening
  • for orchestra
  • Edition type: full score

Future Performances

Location: Kölcsey Center, Great Hall, Debrecen (H), Orchestra: Kodály Filharmonikusok Debrecen, Conductor: László Kovács

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.