Universal Edition - Zoltán Kodály – Dances of Galánta

Zoltán Kodály

Zoltán Kodály
Dances of Galánta

Year of composition: 1933
Scored for: for orchestra
Composer: Zoltán Kodály
Instrumentation: 2 2 2 2 - 4 2 0 0 - timp, perc, str
Instrumentation details:
1st flute
2nd flute (+picc)
1st oboe
2nd oboe
1st clarinet in A
2nd clarinet in A
1st bassoon
2nd bassoon
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
3rd horn in F
4th horn in F
1st trumpet in C
2nd trumpet in C
violin I
violin II
Table of Contents:
Tänze aus Galanta für Orchester
Duration: 13′
Dedication: A Budapesti Filharmóniai Társaság alakulásának 80. évfordulójára.
To the 80th anniversary of the Budapest Philharmonic Society.
Please check your input!

  • Kodály Zoltán

  • Dances of Galánta

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

Tänze aus Galanta

World Première

Location: Budapest / Hungary
Date: 23.10.1933
Orchestra: Orchester der Philharmonischen Gesellschaft Budapest
Conductor: Ernö Dohnányi

Work Introduction

Zoltán Kodály composed Tänze aus Galánta for the celebration of the 80th anniversary of the Budapest Philharmonic Orchestra in 1933. He chose the themes from written librettos: “Galánta is a small, Hungarian market town on the old railway line between Vienna and Budapest, where the composer spent seven years of his childhood. At that time, a famous gipsy band lived there, who gave the child his first taste of ‘orchestral sound’. Several volumes of Hungarian dances were published in Vienna around 1800, including one ‘by various gipsies from Galánta’. The principle motifs of this work come from those volumes.” (Kodály, from the preface) 

Study score – Dances of Galánta

For the "Dances of Galánta" Zoltán Kodály used motifs of the Hungarian dance music that have been passed on by the Romani people for centuries, and transformed them into an orchestral work.

  • for orchestra
  • Edition type: study score
  • Series: Neue Studienpartituren-Reihe
  • UE34121
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-6661-9
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-08018-0
EUR 19,95

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Pay by credit card, PayPal and direct bank transfer (in some countries)

full score - Dances of Galánta

Dances of Galánta
  • for orchestra
  • Edition type: full score

full score - Dances of Galánta

Dances of Galánta
  • for orchestra
  • Edition type: full score

Future Performances

26.07.2017 - Grant Park Music Festival
Location: Jay Pritzker Pavilion, Chicago, IL (USA), Orchestra: Grant Park Orchestra, Conductor: Carlos Kalmar

06.08.2017 - Salzburger Festspiele Young Conductors Award Concert
Location: Stiftung Mozarteum, Salzburg (A), Orchestra: Camerata Salzburg

Location: Spilberk Castle, Spilberk (CZ), Orchestra: Brno Philharmonic Orchestra, Conductor: Bijan Khadem-Missagh

Location: Horn (CZ), Orchestra: Brno Philharmonic Orchestra, Conductor: Bijan Khadem-Missagh

Location: Jyväskylä City Theatre, Jyvaskyla (FIN), Orchestra: Jyväskylä Sinfonia, Conductor: Ville Matvejeff

show all preformances

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.