Universal Edition - Georg Friedrich Haas – concerto grosso Nr. 2

Georg Friedrich Haas

Georg Friedrich Haas
concerto grosso Nr. 2

Year of composition: 2014
Scored for: for chamber ensemble and orchestra
Composer: Georg Friedrich Haas
Instrumentation: CHAMBER ENSEMBLE: 1 1 1 1 - 1 1 1 0 - perc(1), acc, pno - vln(2), vla, vc, cb // ORCHESTRA: 2 2 2 2 - 3 2 2 1 - timp, perc(3) - vln.I(10), vln.II(10), vla(8), vc(7), cb(6)
Instrumentation details:
CHAMBER ENSEMBLE: flute (+picc)
clarinet in Bb
horn in F
trumpet in C
1st violin
2nd violin
double bass
ORCHESTRA: 1st flute
2nd flute
1st oboe
2nd oboe
1st clarinet in Bb
2nd clarinet in Bb
1st bassoon
2nd bassoon
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
3rd horn in F
1st trumpet in C
2nd trumpet in C
1st trombone
2nd trombone
1st percussion
2nd percussion
3rd percussion
violin I
violin II
double bass
Commissioned by: Commissioned by BBC Radio 3, the ORF Radio Symphony Orchestra Vienna, and WIEN MODERN. First performed in Glasgow by the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Ilan Volkov, during the 2014 Tectonics Festival.
Duration: 22′
Please check your input!

  • Haas Georg Friedrich

  • concerto grosso Nr. 2

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

World Première

Location: City Halls Glasgow / Great Britain
Date: 10.05.2014
Orchestra: BBC Scottish SO
Conductor: Ilan Volkov

Work Introduction

concerto grosso no. 2 also sees two worlds collide: the contrast between the intimacy of chamber music and the fullness of an orchestra. “concerto grosso no. 2 was a highlight, all lucid textures and gutsy elemental harmonies,” wrote the Guardian. And Andrew Clark from the Financial Times added: “In the 18-minute [piece], the ear is teased and stimulated by a constantly developing/enveloping skein of siren sounds [...].”

View the full score

study score - concerto grosso Nr. 2

concerto grosso Nr. 2
  • for chamber ensemble and orchestra
  • Edition type: study score

study score - concerto grosso Nr. 2

concerto grosso Nr. 2
  • for chamber ensemble and orchestra
  • Edition type: study score

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.