Universal Edition - Haas: New work for chamber orchestra

2011-06-03 10:51

Haas: New work for chamber orchestra


Georg Friedrich Haas (c) Lucerne Festival_Priska Ketterer

On 4 June Georg Friedrich Haas’ new work for chamber orchestra will be given its world première by the Munich Chamber Orchestra conducted by Alexander Liebreich.

Chants oubliés is written for a chamber orchestra separated into two groups. One group consists of 8 violins, 4 violas and 4 celli (i.e. 4 string quartets making up one ensemble); the other group consists of two of each of the following: clarinets, horns, trumpets, trombones and double basses.

The title refers to late works by Franz Liszt (Valses oubliés, Romance oubliée) – Liszt’s technique of presenting one-part melodies in a different sound environment (often that of the piano) is applied here to the possibilities of the chamber orchestra.” (Haas)

Go back