Universal Edition - Salzburg Festival 2011

2011-07-25 13:45

Salzburg Festival 2011

27 July to 30 August

Markus Hinterhäuser, Artistic Director © Luigi CaputoIn the “Mahler Scenes” concert series, director Markus Hinterhäuser has deliberately avoided just presenting a series of Mahler’s symphonies and has concentrated on trying to approach the composer through references to Schubert, Zemlinsky, Korngold, Ives or Hartmann.

The main point of reference remains of course Alban Berg; the Mahler-Scenes begin with his cantata Der Wein and end with his Violin Concerto.

Other UE highlights at this year’s Salzburg Festival include:

10/08–30/08: Leoš Janácek’s The Makropulos Affair
11/08: Morton Feldman’s Neither
13/08: Georg Friedrich Haas in vain for 24 instruments
23/08: Friedrich Cerhas Concerto for percussion and orchestra

Go back