COVID-19 Update

Dear customers, we would like to inform you that due to the current situation concerning the novel corona virus, exit restrictions have been imposed in Austria. For this reason we kindly ask you to send all requests in written form to [email protected]. Of course, you are still welcome to use the various contact forms on our website and place orders online in our webshop. We ask for your patience in case we are not able to process your requests at the usual speed - due to legal regulations, companies in Austria are currently only able to operate at reduced capacity. However, we would like to assure you that Universal Edition will continue to look after its customers in times like these. Best regards, your Universal Edition team.

Richard Strauss: 2 Lieder

  • op. 26 / TrV 166
  • for voice and piano
  • based on the text of the Critical Edition (Richard Strauss Works)
  • Soloists:
  • Instrumentation details:
  • Composer: Richard Strauss
  • Text author: Nikolaus Lenau
  • Original language: German
  • Translator: John Bernhoff
  • Table of contents:
    O wärst du mein!
Web Cover

Printed product

Richard Strauss: 2 Lieder for low voice and piano - op. 26 TrV 166 | UE37985

  • Edition type: sheet music
  • Languages: German | English
  • Edition info: Based on the text of "Richard Strauss Works · Critical Edition (RSW)"
  • Format: 23.2 × 30.5 cm
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-7554-3
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-08882-7
Product available


New practical edition of “Two Songs” op. 26 by Richard Strauss for voice and piano. It comprises “Frühlingsgedränge“ (“Voices of Spring“) and “O wärst du mein!“ (“O, wert thou mine!“) based on poems by Nikolaus Lenau.

Strauss composed these songs from 1891-1894. He often accompanied his wife, the soprano Pauline Strauss-de Ahna, on the piano and worked with her on interpretations of his piano songs. The resulting entries of the composer (e.g. performance markings) are reproduced here.

Based on the text of “Richard Strauss Works” – Critical Edition (RSW), with English translations by John Bernhoff.

Information on the research site Richard-Strauss-Edition (LMU University, Munich) is available under

Sample Pages


  • Frühlingsgedränge
  • O wärst du mein!

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works