Johannes Brahms: Klaviersonate

  • in F minor
  • for piano
  • Instrumentation details:
  • Composer: Johannes Brahms
  • Editor: Christian Martin Schmidt
  • Fingering: Peter Roggenkamp
  • Table of contents:
    Sonate f-Moll op. 5
  • Dedication: Frau Gräfin Ida von Hohenthal geb. Gräfin von Seherr-Thoss zugeeignet
Web Cover

Printed product

Johannes Brahms: Piano Sonata for piano - op. 5 | UT50104

  • Edition type: urtext edition
  • Series: Wiener Urtext Edition
  • Grade: 7-8
  • Edition info: Edited from the sources by Christian Martin Schmidt and Henriette Straub Fingering and comments on interpretation by Peter Roggenkamp
  • Format: 23.1 × 30.3 cm
  • ISBN: 978-3-85055-097-0
  • ISMN: 979-0-50057-103-2
Product available


The sonata Op. 5 is the final volume in the new, centenary Wiener Urtext Edition of Johannes Brahms' three piano sonatas. It follows the same editorial standards as the editions of the two preceding sonatas, Op. 1 and Op. 2. The performance notes contain valuable information on playing technique, pedalling, tempo and suggested solutions to problematic passages.

Sample Pages


  • Sonate f-Moll op. 5


The best-known (and best) of Brahms's three early piano sonatas receives editorial care well up to Wiener Urtext's usual standard. The music Iayout is spacious, and welcoming enough to prompt a second Iook from pianists hitherto daunted by the work's technical demands. The thoughtful preface comments on Brahms's three distinct solo-piano periods: sonatas, variations, then short 'character' pieces, and the end-notes quote - quite extensively- many of Brahms's first thoughts in this much revised piece. Recommended. Music Teacher 12/2009 (Michael Round)

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works