COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Antonio Vivaldi: Sonaten

  • for violoncello and basso continuo
  • Composer: Antonio Vivaldi
  • Interpretatory hints: Gerhart Darmstadt
  • Editor: Bernhard Moosbauer
  • Table of contents:
    Sonata Es-Dur RV 39
    Sonata e-Moll RV 40
    Sonata F-Dur RV 41
    Sonata g-Moll RV 42
    Sonata a-Moll RV 43
    Sonata a-Moll RV 44
    Sonata B-Dur RV 45
    Sonata B-Dur RV 46
    Sonata B-Dur RV 47
Web Cover

Printed product

Antonio Vivaldi: Complete Sonatas for violoncello and basso continuo | UT50175

  • Edition type: urtext edition
  • Series: Wiener Urtext Edition
  • Grade: 4-6
  • Edition info: Editor: Bernhard Moosbauer Notes on Interpretation: Gerhart Darmstadt
  • Format: 23.1 × 30.3 cm
  • ISBN: 978-3-85055-658-3
  • ISMN: 979-0-50057-290-9
Product available


The nine sonatas for violoncello and basso continuo by Antonio Vivaldi are among the most famous cello works of the Baroque era. Thanks to their moderate technical demands, the pieces are an integral part of music lessons as well as of private music-making. But even for the professional ancient music scene, they form a focus of the cello repertoire. The new edition of the Wiener Urtext Edition serves the needs and demands of all three target groups alike, providing a reliable musical text which is no longer based on the unauthorized first Paris edition by Le Clerc & Boivin but on a copy from Naples revised by Vivaldi himself as well as on two other manuscripts associated with the composer from the Bibliothèque Nationale in Paris and the music library of the Counts of Schönborn at Wiesentheid. Apart from the solo part, the edition comprises a piano (harpsichord) score with realized basso continuo which should be very welcome to pupils and amateurs. An unrealized basso continuo part has been added for the professional continuo player in which the figures of the first Paris edition has been included. Even if they do not trace back to Vivaldi himself, they bear witness to the contemporary basso continuo practice and can serve as a 'guide' for the execution of Vivaldi's unfigured bass part. More detailed information on the performance practice is provided in the notes on interpretation by Gerhart Darmstadt which are based on contemporary sources.

Sample Pages


  • Sonata a-Moll RV 44
  • Sonata B-Dur RV 46
  • Sonata e-Moll RV 40
  • Sonata Es-Dur RV 39
  • Sonata F-Dur RV 41
  • Sonata a-Moll RV 43
  • Sonata B-Dur RV 45
  • Sonata B-Dur RV 47
  • Sonata g-Moll RV 42

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works