COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Arcangelo Corelli: Triosonaten (Auswahl Bd. 1)

  • for 2 violins and basso continuo
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st violin
    2nd violin
  • Composer: Arcangelo Corelli
  • Editor: Bernhard Moosbauer
  • Basso continuo: Jochen Reutter
  • Table of contents:
    Sonata duodecima A-Dur op. 3/12
    Sonata nona G-Dur op. 1/9
    Sonata prima F-Dur op. 1/1
    Sonata quarta a-Moll op. 1/4
    Sonata quarta h-Moll op. 3/4
    Sonata seconda D-Dur op. 3/2
Web Cover

Printed product

Arcangelo Corelli: Trio Sonatas for 2 violins and basso continuo | UT50277

Sonate da chiesa (Selection from Op. 1 and Op. 3)

  • Edition type: urtext edition
  • Series: Wiener Urtext Edition
  • Volume: 1
  • Grade: 4-6
  • Edition: for 2 violins, organ (harpsichord/piano) and cello (violone/theorba/lute)
  • Format: 23.1 × 30.3 cm
  • ISBN: 978-3-85055-706-1
  • ISMN: 979-0-50057-332-6
Product available


Only few works in music history can adorn themselves with the attribute 'epoch-making'. Arcangelo Corelli's trio sonatas are among them. With his Sonate da chiesa Op. 1 and Sonate da camera Op. 2, Corelli, in 1681 and 1685 respectively, laid the foundation for a genre which was to become the authoritative chamber music genre for almost 100 years. It was only in 1781 that it was superseded by Joseph Haydn's String Quartets Op. 33, which also constituted a work group of epoch-making significance. From the historical point of view, even the string quartet is a 'child' of the trio sonata; thus, Corelli's significance as founder of the European chamber music genre cannot be valued too highly.
As a consequence, the Wiener Urtext Edition publishes a representative selection of 12 of a total of 48 trio sonatas on the occasion of the 300th anniversary of the composer's death. Volume 1 contains six sonatas of the Da Chiesa model, Volume 2 six representative pieces of the Da Camera type. The new edition was based on original editions, the first Italian reprints and the important Amsterdam edition of Roger. In addition to parts for the melodic instruments, the new edition also contains a continuo score with realised, easily playable basso continuo. On the basis of this material and due to the medium technical demands, the edition is perfectly suitable for starting to play chamber music pieces.

• Representative selection of Corelli's trio sonatas in Urtext
• Based on the first edition and major early reprints
• Separate parts for violins and continuo instruments together with full score containing realised and easily playable figured bass
• Preface with detailed information on the works' historical-cultural background
• Ideally suited for getting started in small ensemble music-making

Sample Pages


  • Sonata seconda D-Dur op. 3/2
  • Sonata duodecima A-Dur op. 3/12
  • Sonata quarta h-Moll op. 3/4
  • Sonata nona G-Dur op. 1/9
  • Sonata prima F-Dur op. 1/1
  • Sonata quarta a-Moll op. 1/4


(…) In all, this is a very good version of the sonatas, with a preface that contains a lot of sound advice for violinists regarding performance practice in Corelli's time. (…)
Strad Magazine January 2015 (Pavlo Beznosiuk)

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works