Alban Berg: 3 Stücke (Nr. 1, 5, 6) (arranged by: Theo Verbey)

Alban Berg 3 Stücke (Nr. 1, 5, 6)
3 Stücke (Nr. 1, 5, 6)

Alban Berg: 3 Stücke (Nr. 1, 5, 6) (arranged by: Theo Verbey)

Year of composition:
Scored for:
for string orchestra
Alban Berg
Theo Verbey (2005)
Instrumentation details:
violin I
violin II
Table of contents:
Berg, Alban: Allegretto gioviale Allegretto gioviale
Berg, Alban: Presto delirando (Tenebroso)
Berg, Alban: Largo desolato
More Less


3 Stücke (Nr. 1, 5, 6)

The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

Work introduction

Alban Berg arranged Three Pieces (I, III and IV) from the Lyric Suite (originally for string quartet) for string orchestra in 1927. My arrangement of the three remaining movements (I, V and VI) means it is now possible to perform the complete Lyric Suite for string orchestra as part of a larger concert programme. In orchestrating it, I have kept as close as possible to Berg’s style.

From previous experience (my adaptation of the Sonate op 1 for piano [1908] for orchestra of 1984), I know  that the enormous intensity of the music asks for a great diversity of ideas regarding texture and individual part writing. On a more basic, technical level this means that the double stops in the quartet version are usually replaced by solo/tutti-divisi or ordinary divisions. The adding of the double bass line often has consequences for the other parts.

These “six rather short movements of a lyrical rather than symphonic character” (as Berg called it) are easier to perform with larger groups than with a string quartet. The piece is enhanced by the richness of sound and clarification of structure.

Theo Verbey

Special prints

3 Stücke (Nr. 1, 5, 6)

Alban Berg: 3 Stücke (Nr. 1, 5, 6)

full score
for string orchestra , 15’

3 Stücke (Nr. 1, 5, 6)

Alban Berg: 3 Stücke (Nr. 1, 5, 6)

study score
for string orchestra , 15’

World première

Stadsgehoorzaal, Leiden (NL)
Amsterdam Sinfonietta
Christoph Poppen
Main soloists:
Renate Arends, Sopran

Other works

Sign up for our newsletter!

You will regularly receive information about new scores with free downloads, current prize games and news about our composers.