Alban Berg: 4 Lieder op. 2

(Arranger: Richard Dünser)

  • for medium voice and ensemble
  • 1 1 1 1 - 1 0 0 0 - hp, vln(2), vla, vc, cb
  • Duration: 7’
  • Soloists:
  • Instrumentation details:
    clarinet in Bb
    horn in F
    1st violin
    2nd violin
  • Composer: Alban Berg
  • Arranger: Richard Dünser

Purchase information

Work and composer specifications

Personal details

This request is non-binding and doesn't contain any purchase obligation.

Work introduction

Just as Berg’s Sonata Op. 1 evinces his esteem for Schönberg’s First Chamber Symphony (the fourth chords, the whole-tone row, embedded in a barely discernible key), the 4 Lieder from Op. 2 (especially the fourth) causes listeners to feel “air from another planet” (text by Stephan George, set by Schönberg in his Second String Quartet); the ground of functional harmony is abandoned more and more after the late-Romantic beginning in the first lied, as the music floats away to new harmonic spheres.

From the framework of this harmony, or perhaps mounted into it, emerge the densest, interlocked motifs and thematic developments in elaborate counterpoint. This compositional material is accentuated and illuminated by the scoring and, corresponding to the dramaturgic progress of the piano movement, transformed into a chamber-music setting; the Klangfarbe employed as a structuring element, reinforced in its effect by the text and its transmutation into atmosphere generated by musical metaphors, alluding to Berg’s procedure in orchestrating the Seven Early Lieder, only in a smaller instrumental and formal musical space.

Richard Dünser

The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

World première

Arnold Schönberg Center, Wien (AT)
Ensemble Kontrapunkte
Peter Keuschnig

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works