Alexander Wassiljewitsch Mossolow: Konzert

  • for piano and orchestra
  • 1 1 1 1 - 2 1 1 0 - timp, perc, str
  • Duration: 23’
  • Instrumentation details:
    flute (+picc)
    clarinet in A
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    trumpet in A
    percussion (triangle, cymbals, tam-tam, military drum, bass drum)
    violin I
    violin II
  • Composer: Alexander Wassiljewitsch Mossolow
  • Dedication: Herrn N. Malka zugeeignet

Purchase information

Work and composer specifications

Personal details

This request is non-binding and doesn't contain any purchase obligation.

Work introduction

There are traces of American jazz in the slow sections of the concerto’s first movement, whereas the con moto parts are evocative of the world of machinery – a favourite subject of cultural interest in the 1920s. The second movement is wonderfully original – swinging theatre music, now abstract, now richly suggestive, in a way Mossolov’s teacher Prokofiev would have liked. The third movement is excited and exciting, its rhythms hugely compelling, rousing and virtuosic.


Sample pages

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works