COVID-19 Update

Dear customers, we would like to inform you that due to the current situation concerning the novel corona virus, exit restrictions have been imposed in Austria. For this reason we kindly ask you to send all requests in written form to [email protected]. We ask for your patience in case we are not able to process your requests at the usual speed - due to legal regulations, companies in Austria are currently only able to operate at reduced capacity. However, we would like to assure you that Universal Edition will continue to look after its customers in times like these. Best regards, your Universal Edition team.

Anton Webern: Konzert

  • for 9 instruments
  • 1 1 1 0 - 1 1 1 0 - pno, vln(1), vla(1)
  • Duration: 7’30”
  • Instrumentation details:
    clarinet in Bb
    horn in F
    trumpet in C
  • Composer: Anton Webern
  • Dedication: Arnold Schönberg zum 60. Geburtstag


Work specifications


Publication Information

Please check again the data you have given - thank you very much.

The license as well as our terms and conditions are available in writing. By clicking the button "Send inquiry", you submit your data, which are checked by the Universal Edition. The Universal Edition is free to provide you with an offer on the basis of your information. From the transmission of your request, no claim can be derived for a license.

Work introduction

Webern dedicated this piece to Arnold Schönberg for his 60th birthday in 1934. He had been working on it from 1931 to 1934; it is an especially consistent example of his late style, in which it was a question of realising “comprehensibility as the paramount principle when presenting a musical idea.” The structure of the row is already utile. It is comprised of four three-note groups (minor second + major third); the second is the retrograde inversion, the third is the retrograde and the fourth is the inversion of the first. Thus, the motivic work here is even more consistently retro-set in the row than in the Symphony Op. 21.

At the outset of the first movement, the three-note groups sound in the winds, differentiated in articulation and pitch duration; these successive or simultaneous groups of three predominate the entire movement (again, a sonata-movement form).

The slow movement – rhythmically stereotypic in quarter notes throughout – assigns two pitches each of the three-note groups to the piano accompaniment, each formed only of the dyad of major third and major seventh. The remaining row tones figure as “melody.” The three-note groups again become manifest in the accelerated final movement. Altogether, then, the piece also bears traits of a broad cycle of variations; the work turns the “material,” the crude pitch relationships, into sound. The powerful expressiveness which still pulses through the piece is no longer that of the subject, that of the composer. “The composer no longer ‘bends’ the material to express himself; he “bows” to it to serve its presentation” (R. Schulz).

Manfred Angerer


The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works