Arvo Pärt: Mein Weg

Arvo Pärt Mein Weg
Mein Weg

Arvo Pärt: Mein Weg

Year of composition:
Scored for:
for 14 strings and percussion
Arvo Pärt
perc, vln(6), vla(2), vc(4), cb(2)
Instrumentation details:
percussion: tubular bell in E, bass drum
1st violin
2nd violin
3rd violin
4th violin
5th violin
6th violin
1st viola
2nd viola
1st violoncello
2nd violoncello
3rd violoncello
4th violoncello
1st contrabass
2nd contrabass
Andreas Peer Kähler und dem Kammerorchester Unter den Linden gewidmet
More Less

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Product available

License request Hire request


Mein Weg

The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

Work introduction

Mein Weg was written for organ in 1989. In 1994 Arvo Pärt created a version for 14 strings and percussion. The title was inspired by a short poem from Livre des Questions, the magnum opus of the poet Edmond Jabès, who was born in Cairo and emigrated to France in 1957. It reads:

My path has long hours, / jolts and pains. / My path has peaks and sea-troughs, / sand and sky. / Mine or thine.

The image of life’s portentous sea-troughs seems to have found an echo in the work’s compositional fabric with its constant, dynamically differentiated upward and downward motion. We can hear it, for example, in the three distinctly structured forms of motion using the same tonal material, each assigned to a different set of instruments.

Wolfgang Sandner

From our online shop

World première

Stefaniensaal, Graz (AT)
Arco Musicale
Michael Fendre

Other works

Sign up for our newsletter!

You will regularly receive information about new scores with free downloads, current prize games and news about our composers.