COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Beat Furrer: Dort ist das Meer – nachts steig' ich hinab

  • for mixed choir and orchestra
  • 3 2 4 3 - 4 3 3 1 - perc(2), pno(2),, str (4 4 6 6 4)
  • Duration: 16’
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st flute (+alto fl)
    2nd flute
    3rd flute
    1st oboe
    2nd oboe
    1st clarinet in Bb
    2nd clarinet in Bb
    3rd clarinet in Bb (+bass cl(Bb))
    bass clarinet in Bb
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    3rd horn in F
    4th horn in F
    1st trumpet in C
    2nd trumpet in C
    3rd trumpet in C
    1st trombone
    2nd trombone
    3rd trombone
    bass tuba
    1st percussion
    2nd percussion
    1st piano
    2nd piano
    electric organ
    1st violin I
    2nd violin I
    3rd violin I
    4th violin I
    1st violin II
    2nd violin II
    3rd violin II
    4th violin II
    1st viola
    2nd viola
    3rd viola
    4th viola
    5th viola
    6th viola
    1st violoncello
    2nd violoncello
    3rd violoncello
    4th violoncello
    5th violoncello
    6th violoncello
    1st contrabass
    2nd contrabass
    3rd contrabass
    4th contrabass
  • Choir: 4S, 4A, 4T, 4B
  • Composer: Beat Furrer
  • Text author: Pablo Neruda

Work introduction

With reference to the poem by Chilean poet Pablo Neruda, Furrer remarks that it is an expression of despair over past tragedy, misery, and the Mapocho River as its witness, born of snow, sprung from the beak of an eagle, winding through the "valley of ashes". … The increasingly intense cries of the poet, the fearful questions … are answered with silence. Neruda's text was not used here as a programmatic model for the composition of the music. Since only fragments of his text were used, it was possible to subjugate the language to the musical composition.


The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

World première

Genève (CH)
Orchestre de la Suisse Romande
Michel Tabachnik

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works