Béla Bartók: Dance Suite

Béla Bartók Dance Suite
Dance Suite

Béla Bartók: Dance Suite

Year of composition:
in six movements
Scored for:
for piano
Béla Bartók
More Less

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Product available

License request


Dance Suite

Work introduction

Three works were commissioned for the 50th anniversary of the formation of Hungary’s capital Budapest from the three cities Buda, Pest and Óbuda: Kodály’s Psalmus hungaricus, Dohnányi’s Festal Overture and Béla Bartók’s Dance Suite, which became one of his most frequently-played compositions. Although the themes are Bartók’s, they sound like peasant music: Hungarian, Romanian, Slovakian and Arabian, commingling in some of the movements. As Bartók himself pointed out, “The melody of the first theme in the first movement is reminiscent of primitive Arabian folk music, whereas its rhythm sounds East European.” Thus he remained faithful to his guiding idea of confraternisation among peoples.

From our online shop

Other works

Sign up for our newsletter!

You will regularly receive information about new scores with free downloads, current prize games and news about our composers.