COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Bohuslav Martinů: Concerto

  • for harpsichord and small orchestra
  • 1 0 0 1 - 0 0 0 0 - pno - vln(3), vla, vc, cb
  • Duration: 17’30”
  • Soloists:
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st violin
    2nd violin
    3rd violin
    violoncello, double bass
  • Composer: Bohuslav Martinů
  • Dedication: Marcelle de Lacour

arrangements & translations

Work specifications



Arrangement Information

Please check again the data you have given - thank you very much.

The license as well as our terms and conditions are available in writing. By clicking the button "Submit" you submit your data, which are checked by the Universal Edition. The Universal Edition is free to provide you with an offer on the basis of your information. From the transmission of your request, no claim can be derived for a license.

Work introduction

This is a delightful piece in the French-Neoclassical style; its scoring almost suggests the chamber-musical genre. The synergy of harpsichord and piano produces some enchanting sonic effects which anticipate Frank Martin’s Petite Symphonie Concertante.

It was commissioned by the soloist Marcelle de Lacour, a pupil of the legendary Wanda Landowska, who was the key protagonist in returning the harpsichord to the concert stages of the 20th century. Only three months previously, in June 1935, Martin? had already composed Deux pièces for harpsichord for Marcelle de Lacour.

The Concerto was premiered on 29 February 1936 in Paris as part of the contemporary music cycle Concerts du Triton, conducted by Henri Tomasi.


Sample pages

World première

Paris (FR)
Ensemble Instrumental
Henri Tomasi
Main soloists:
Marcelle de Lacour, harpsichord

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works