COVID-19 Update

Dear customers, we would like to inform you that due to the current situation concerning the novel corona virus, exit restrictions have been imposed in Austria. For this reason we kindly ask you to send all requests in written form to [email protected]. We ask for your patience in case we are not able to process your requests at the usual speed - due to legal regulations, companies in Austria are currently only able to operate at reduced capacity. However, we would like to assure you that Universal Edition will continue to look after its customers in times like these. Best regards, your Universal Edition team.

Luciano Berio: Récit

(Arranger: David, Delangle)

  • (Chemins VII) (1996/2003)
  • for alto saxophone, ensemble of 12 saxophones and percussion
  • perc, sop.sax(3), alto sax(3), t.sax(3), bar.sax(2), bass sax (or bar.sax))
  • Duration: 15’
  • Soloists:
    alto saxophone in Eb
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st soprano saxophone in Bb
    2nd soprano saxophone in Bb
    3rd soprano saxophone in Bb
    1st alto saxophone in Eb
    2nd alto saxophone in Eb
    3rd alto saxophone in Eb
    1st tenor saxophone in Bb
    2nd tenor saxophone in Bb
    3rd tenor saxophone in Bb
    1st baritone saxophone in Eb
    2nd baritone saxophone in Eb
    bass saxophone in Bb (or 3rd bar.sax(Eb))
  • Composer: Luciano Berio
  • Arranger: Vincent DavidClaude Delangle

Work introduction

Récit is based on Sequenza IX (1980), also for alto saxophone. Berio chose the title “Récit” to underline the music’s narrative character, selecting the word, as he said, under the influence of French philosopher Paul Ricoeur (1913-2005). Berio noted in an interview that the orchestra functions in a different way from that of the other Chemins: instead of further developing or preparing the solo part, it is completely autonomous. Essentially, the alto saxophone plays the Sequenza – but the pauses are longer this time, to let the orchestra unfold its own material.

The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works