David Sawer: The Memory of Water

David Sawer The Memory of Water
The Memory of Water

David Sawer: The Memory of Water

Year of composition:
1st Version
Scored for:
for 2 violins and solo strings
David Sawer
2 violins
str(3 3 2 2 1)
Instrumentation details:
1. violin A
2. violin A
3. violin A
1. violin B
2. violin B
3. violin B
1. viola
2. viola
1. violoncello
2. violoncello
Commissioned by Birmingham Contemporary Music Group with funds provided by West Midlands Arts and Stephen Banfield sound investor
More Less

The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

Work introduction

“...dreaming beside the river, I gave my imagination to the water, the green, clear water that makes the meadows green. I can't site beside a brook without falling into a deep reverie, without seeing once again my happiness... The stream doesn't have to be ours. The anonymous water knows all my secrets. And the same memory issues from every spring.”

Gaston Bachelard, “Water and Dreams”

The title contains the two ideas of my piece: the music follows no programme but proceeds like a sequence of memories initiated at the opening and remembered in different ways through the course of the work: the effect is of trying to remember (and re-remember) some elusive moment in the past.

Because I was writing for string instruments alone, I knew that, even though at all levels the details could change, the string sound would straight away mix and blend into itself: I imagined the music as a moving piece of water, linked by strands of texture, echoing back and forth, infecting itself, never taking hold or assuming shape.

The 'memories' merge, emerge, and submerge into this texture: the two solo violins provide the initial impulse, whose essence is diluted in gradual phases as the piece progresses, until it finally disappears.

David Sawer

From our online shop

World première

Birmingham Contemporary Music Group
Mark Elder

Other works

Sign up for our newsletter!

You will regularly receive information about new scores with free downloads, current prize games and news about our composers.

Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now