Ernst Krenek: Journey Through the Austrian Alps

Ernst Krenek Journey Through the Austrian Alps
Journey Through the Austrian Alps

Ernst Krenek: Journey Through the Austrian Alps

op. 62
Year of composition:
original version
Scored for:
for medium voice and piano
Ernst Krenek
Text author:
Ernst Krenek
medium voice
Instrumentation details:
pno, voice
Table of contents:
: Motiv (BAND 1)
: Verkehr
: Kloster in den Alpen
: Wetter
: Traurige Stunde
: Friedhof im Gebirgsdorf
: Regentag (BAND 2)
: Unser Wein
: Rückblick
Krenek, Ernst: Auf und ab
: Alpenbewohner
: Politik (BAND 3)
: Gewitter
: Heimweh
: Heisser Tag am See
: Kleine Stadt in den Südlichen Alpen (BAND 4)
: Ausblick nach Süden
: Entscheidung
: Heimkehr
: Epilog
More Less


Journey Through the Austrian Alps

Work introduction

In either of its versions, the “travel book” is one of Krenek’s most often-performed pieces. The text, which the young composer wrote himself, is also effective without music; it is an atmospheric picture of the Austrian landscape, reflecting Krenek’s love of his homeland and its nature.

It is also a product of the 1920s, when the memories and horrors of World War I were still vivid and when politically engaged, sensitive men such as Krenek already perceived the approaching catastrophe of the Second World War. The compelling music has traces of Schubert, Krenek’s strongest influence during the creative period which produced Op. 62.

From our online shop

Next performances

20 Aug

Journey Through the Austrian Alps

Stiftung Mozarteum, Salzburg (AT)

World première

Leipzig (DE)
Main soloists:
Hans Duhan, T; Ernst Krenek, pno

Other works

Sign up for our newsletter!

You will regularly receive information about new scores with free downloads, current prize games and news about our composers.

Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now