Friedrich Cerha: 4 Paraphrasen

Friedrich Cerha 4 Paraphrasen
4 Paraphrasen

Friedrich Cerha: 4 Paraphrasen

Year of composition:
Scored for:
for oboe, violoncello and piano
Friedrich Cerha
Instrumentation details:
für Heinz Holliger
More Less


4 Paraphrasen

Work introduction

When I have previously used quotes in my work, they have often created allusions that only I can understand. In my Four Paraphrases for oboe, cello and piano, written to a request by Heinz Holliger for a specific programme, I have made my quotes clearly audible for everyone.

It was appealing to me, by combining the originals with new elements, to show another side – in my opinion an unexpected side – of the original material. In the first Paraphrase it is the B-minor Scherzo by Chopin, in the second the Rigoletto-arias by Verdi, in the third the well-known Humoresque by Dvořák, and in the fourth a mix of Johann Strauß, Offenbach, the Marseillaise, the Internationale and Lohengrin.

Perhaps the recognition of something distorted within the banal can be a source of pleasure, although it is very clear to me that by their technically proximity to my chansons from the 1980s they amount to a borderline case within my oeuvre.

Friedrich Cerha

Special prints

4 Paraphrasen

Friedrich Cerha: 4 Paraphrasen

study score
for oboe, violoncello and piano , 11’30”

4 Paraphrasen

Friedrich Cerha: 4 Paraphrasen

score and parts
for oboe, violoncello and piano , 11’30”

World première

Kartause, Ittingen (CH)
Main soloists:
Heinz Holliger, ob; Christoph Richter, vc; András Schiff, pno

Other works

Sign up for our newsletter!

You will regularly receive information about new scores with free downloads, current prize games and news about our composers.

Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now