Friedrich Cerha: 5 Sätze

Friedrich Cerha 5 Sätze
5 Sätze

Friedrich Cerha: 5 Sätze

Year of composition:
Scored for:
for violin, violoncello and piano
Friedrich Cerha
Instrumentation details:
More Less


5 Sätze

Work introduction

Shortly after Friedrich Cerha presented his first piano trio (at age 79), Universal Edition asked him for a short piece with the same instrumental combination; the result, lasting three minutes, is called Parabola. Prior to its premiere performance in late 2007 four other short trios were finished; the entire composition was premiered in 2008. According to Cerha, he waited until he had come to terms with the piano trio genre because the predominant role of the piano in its literature had bothered him. He undertook to write a work in which all three instruments featured equally: “It was important for me above all to respect the instruments’ widely individual articulation. Of course, the two string instruments approach each other more closely and confront the piano.”

Special prints

5 Sätze

Friedrich Cerha: 5 Sätze

score and parts
for violin, violoncello and piano , 22’

World première

Konzerthaus, Wien (AT)
Main soloists:
Wiener Klaviertrio: Wolfgang Redik, vl; Matthias Gredler, vc; Stefan Mendl, pn

Other works

Sign up for our newsletter!

You will regularly receive information about new scores with free downloads, current prize games and news about our composers.

Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now