Georg Friedrich Haas: concerto grosso Nr. 1

Georg Friedrich Haas concerto grosso Nr. 1
concerto grosso Nr. 1

Georg Friedrich Haas: concerto grosso Nr. 1

Year of composition:
Scored for:
for 4 alphorns and orchestra
Georg Friedrich Haas
1st alphorn; 2nd alphorn; 3rd alphorn; 4th alphorn
3 3 3 3 - 6 3 3 1 - timp, perc(3) - strings (12 10 8 6 6)
Instrumentation details:
1st flute (+1st picc)
2nd flute (+2nd picc)
3rd flute (+3rd picc)
1st oboe
2nd oboe
3rd oboe (+c.a)
1st clarinet in Bb
2nd clarinet in Bb
3rd clarinet in Bb
1st bassoon
2nd bassoon
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
3rd horn in F
4th horn in F
5th horn in F
6th horn in F
1st trumpet in C
2nd trumpet in C
3rd trumpet in C
1st trombone
2nd trombone
3rd trombone
bass tuba
1st percussion
2nd percussion
3rd percussion
violin I (1st, 2nd player)
violin I (3rd, 4th player)
violin I (5th, 6th player)
violin I (7th, 8th player)
violin I (9th, 10th player)
violin I (11th, 12h player)
violin II (1st, 2nd player)
violin II (3rd, 4th player)
violin II (5th, 6th player)
violin II (7th, 8th player)
violin II (9th, 10th player)
viola (1st, 2nd player)
viola (3rd, 4th player)
viola (5th, 6th player)
viola (7th, 8th player)
violoncello (1st, 2nd player)
violoncello (3rd, 4th player)
violoncello (5th, 6th player)
violoncello (7th, 8th player)
contrabass (1st, 2nd player)
contrabass (3rd, 4th player)
contrabass (5th, 6th player)
Ein Kompositionsauftrag des Bayerischen Rundfunks/musica viva, Wien Modern, der Tonhalle Zürich und Los Angeles Philharmonic Association.
More Less


concerto grosso Nr. 1

The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

Work introduction

“Alphorns are not seen as symbols of folklorist culture, but rather as the source of another dimension of intonation (overtone chords), used to create contrast and to expand the traditional twelvetone tuning of the symphony orchestra.” (Georg Friedrich Haas)

Haas not only has the alphorns provide the pure overtone chords but also deliberately introduces pulsing beats that are played by the orchestra as well. The fascination of this work owes much to this concerto grosso interplay.

Special prints

concerto grosso Nr. 1

Georg Friedrich Haas: concerto grosso Nr. 1

study score
for 4 alphorns and orchestra , 30’
Instr.: 3 3 3 3 - 6 3 3 1 - timp, perc(3) - strings (12 10 8 6 6)

Next performances

30 Jun

concerto grosso Nr. 1

Sala Suggia, Porto (PT)

30 Jul

concerto grosso Nr. 1

London (GB)

World première

Herkulessaal, München (DE)
Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks
Susanna Mälkki
Main soloists:
HORNROH modern alphornquartet Balthasar Streiff, Heléne Berglund, Rudolf Linder, Michael Büttler


Other works

Sign up for our newsletter!

You will regularly receive information about new scores with free downloads, current prize games and news about our composers.

Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now