Ian Wilson: Catalan Tales

Ian Wilson Catalan Tales
Catalan Tales

Ian Wilson: Catalan Tales

Year of composition:
Piano trio no. 3
Scored for:
for violin, violoncello and piano
Ian Wilson
Instrumentation details:
Table of contents:
Birds in space
Decoration for a nursery
Dusk music
The hope of someone sentenced to death
Painting by Joan Miró
More Less


Catalan Tales

Work introduction

In contrast to the first two piano trios, Catalan Tales began as an exploration of the medium itself, although as ever, it speaks of life with all its joy and pain. Each of the five movements found a beginning in a painting by Joan Miró and gained musical impetus thereafter. With every movement lasting under five minutes, the formal approaches are free and individual.

The language is by turns dark and light, and sonority is more of a concern than previously. Lyrical, mobile movements ("Birds in space"; "Dancer") are balanced by more static ones ("The hope of someone sentenced to death"), and the whole is about searching for a sense of human experience, rather than a musical realization of wonderful paintings.

Ian Wilson

Catalan Tales is Ian Wilson’s third confrontation with the piano trio genre. The title points toward the great Catalan painter Joan Miró, whose art inspired the music. Each of the five movements refers to a certain painting, although it was not Wilson’s intention to render them in music; his objective was to seek the meaning of human existence in his music.

Special prints

Catalan Tales

Ian Wilson: Catalan Tales

score and parts
for violin, violoncello and piano , 22’

Other works

Sign up for our newsletter!

You will regularly receive information about new scores with free downloads, current prize games and news about our composers.

Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now