Julian Yu: Atanos

Julian Yu Atanos

Julian Yu: Atanos

op. 36
Year of composition:
Scored for:
for flute, clarinet and string trio
Julian Yu
Instrumentation details:
flute (+picc), clarinet and string trio
Melbourne International Festival of the Arts
More Less

Work introduction

Atanos was commissioned by the Melbourne International Festival of the Arts in early 1995 and was written for a group of French musicians to be performed at one of four concerts entitled "Hommage to Louise Hanson Dyer". These concerts never took place, but fortunately the piece has not been forgotten and was premiered by distinguished Australian artists.

The piece is non-programmatic and music follows its own inner laws. Julian Yu has always been fascinated by Western classical music - by its organisation, discipline and formularisation. These qualities also belong to Chinese folk music. To some people they mean limitation and the end of creation but to him they are important as they give the composer greater scope for freedom and creativity by providing a firm base from which to work. While writing this piece, Yu adopted the Chinese method of ornamentation - tapping into the inner structure of his inherited musical tradition rather than superficially borrowing its sounds, scales and so on. To inherit structure and a way of thinking rather than raw material was the most important thing that he learned from his teacher-mentor, Japanese composer, Joji Yuasa. Atanos is one of Yu’s many statements in the face of the popular direct importation of Chinese musical material for the sake of novelty.

Special prints


Julian Yu: Atanos

for flute, clarinet and string trio , 11’


Julian Yu: Atanos

set of parts
for flute, clarinet and string trio , 11’

World première

Victoria Ensemble I

Other works

Sign up for our newsletter!

You will regularly receive information about new scores with free downloads, current prize games and news about our composers.

Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now