Karol Szymanowski: Concerto No. 1

Karol Szymanowski Concerto No. 1
Concerto No. 1

Karol Szymanowski: Concerto No. 1

op. 35
Year of composition:
reduced version
Scored for:
for violin and orchestra
Karol Szymanowski
2 2 2 2 - 4 2 3 1 - timp, perc, hp, pno, str
Instrumentation details:
2 2 2 2 - 4 2 3 1 - timp, perc, hp, pno, str
Für Paul Kochanski
More Less

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Product available

License request Hire request

The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

Work introduction

Distinctly characterised by his earlier style, Szymanowski’s first violin concerto is extra-refined in its sound; the orchestra, unusually rich in its make-up, shimmers in all its colours, supported by harmonies shot through with chromatics.

The solo part is extraordinarily virtuosic, while the work’s formal layout is easily perceptible despite its one-movement plan, thanks to the clearly demarcated sections; an introduction is followed by a virtuoso vivace as the initial large formal element, and a calm tempo comodo allows for melodic ornamentation.

A large section beginning vivace assai (scherzando) evinces diverse variations before it flows into a cadenza for the solo violin. After a tumultuous entrance of the orchestra, the tempo calms gradually until the end in a fraying close.

Translation Copyright © 2012 by Grant Chorley

From our online shop

Next performances

15 Nov

Concerto No. 1

Konsertsalen, Umea (SE)

Other works

Sign up for our newsletter!

You will regularly receive information about new scores with free downloads, current prize games and news about our composers.

Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now