Luciano Berio: Chemins IV

Luciano Berio Chemins IV
Chemins IV

Luciano Berio: Chemins IV

Year of composition:
(su Sequenza VII)
Scored for:
for oboe and 11 strings
Luciano Berio
vln(3), vla(3), vc(3), cb(2)
Instrumentation details:
3 vln, 3 vla, 3 vc, 2 cb
More Less


Chemins IV

The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

Work introduction

Chemins IV, for oboe and eleven strings, can be listened to as a commentary to my Sequenza VII for oboe (1969), a commentary that amplifies and develops certain harmonic aspects of the original Sequenza. The Sequenza becomes in fact the generator of new instrumental lines, which in turn make explicit its latent polyphony around a pivot - an ever-present B - that puts into perspective all the subsequent harmonic transformations. Like a reverberating chamber, the development of Chemins IV mirrors and shatters the elements of Sequenza VII, sometimes receiving their anticipated echo in such a way that for the listener the oboe part seems generated by the eleven strings.

Luciano Berio

From our online shop

Special prints

Chemins IV

Luciano Berio: Chemins IV

solo part(s)
for oboe and 11 strings , 10’
Instr.: vln(3), vla(3), vc(3), cb(2)

Chemins IV

Luciano Berio: Chemins IV

full score
for oboe and 11 strings , 10’
Instr.: vln(3), vla(3), vc(3), cb(2)

World première

London (GB)
London Sinfonietta
Luciano Berio
Main soloists:
Heinz Holliger, ob

Other works

Sign up for our newsletter!

You will regularly receive information about new scores with free downloads, current prize games and news about our composers.

Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now