COVID-19 Update

Dear customers, we would like to inform you that due to the current situation concerning the novel corona virus, exit restrictions have been imposed in Austria. For this reason we kindly ask you to send all requests in written form to [email protected]. We ask for your patience in case we are not able to process your requests at the usual speed - due to legal regulations, companies in Austria are currently only able to operate at reduced capacity. However, we would like to assure you that Universal Edition will continue to look after its customers in times like these. Best regards, your Universal Edition team.

Luciano Berio: Sequenza X

  • for trumpet in C (amplified by piano resonances)
  • Duration: 14’
  • Composer: Luciano Berio
  • Dedication: written for Thomas Stevens and dedicated to Ernst Fleischmann
  • Commission: Commissioned by Angeles Philharmonic Association

Work introduction

Sequenza X presents the trumpet the way it is – no strange effects, no demands for playing techniques which would transform its character. Berio’s stroke of inspiration was to use a piano, invisibly amplified and with the loudspeaker hidden under the piano. The lid is fully open; the trumpeter must occasionally play into the piano. Berio uses the echo effects very sparingly – so it is all the more captivating when they do sound, with the trumpet continuing to play with its own echo in the background.


World première

Los Angeles (US)
Main soloists:
Thomas Stevens

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works