Luke Bedford: Three Intermezzi

Luke Bedford Three Intermezzi
Three Intermezzi

Luke Bedford: Three Intermezzi

Year of composition:
Scored for:
for piano and string quartet
Luke Bedford
Instrumentation details:
1st violin
2nd violin
Commissioned by Wigmore Hall with the support of André Hoffmann, President of the Fondation Hoffmann, a Swiss grant-making foundation.
More Less

Work introduction

Franck's Piano Quintet in F minor is one of my favourite pieces of chamber music. From first hearing it, I felt a connection with this expressive and structurally fascinating music. I found there was something inherent in the cyclical nature of his piece that could be expanded upon in a way not possible in his time. I wanted to find a new context for those notes written over a century ago. So I have moulded the three discrete movements of Franck's piece into a single continuum by composing three short movements that can either be performed separately or preceding each movement of Franck's Quintet

1) Prelude – Piano solo. This movement builds towards its goal – the opening of Franck's Quintet.

2) Quartettsatz – Only for strings, this movement uses quarter-tones to explore a strange, expressive world.

3) Aria – All the instruments are combined for the first time in the Intermezzi. Whilst the piano plays a series of broken chords, the strings play a slow, lyrical melody.

Luke Bedford

Special prints

Three Intermezzi

Luke Bedford: Three Intermezzi

score and parts
for piano and string quartet , 15’

Three Intermezzi

Luke Bedford: Three Intermezzi

study score
for piano and string quartet , 15’

World première

Concert Hall, Brighton (GB)
Main soloists:
Thomas Gould, Miranda Dale, vln; Clare Finnimore, vla; Caroline Dearnley, vc; Huw Watkins, pno

Other works

Sign up for our newsletter!

You will regularly receive information about new scores with free downloads, current prize games and news about our composers.

Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now