Victoria Borisova-Ollas: Symphony No. 1

Victoria Borisova-Ollas Symphony No. 1
Symphony No. 1

Victoria Borisova-Ollas: Symphony No. 1

Year of composition:
"The Triumph of Heaven"
Scored for:
for orchestra
Victoria Borisova-Ollas
3 3 3 3 - 4 3 3 1 - timp, perc(3), hp, pno, str
Instrumentation details:
1st flute
2nd flute
3rd flute (+picc)
1st oboe
2nd oboe
3rd oboe (+c.a)
1st clarinet in Bb
2nd clarinet in Bb
bass clarinet in Bb (+cl(Bb)
1st bassoon
2nd bassoon
3rd bassoon (+cbsn)
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
3rd horn in F
4th horn in F
1st trumpet in C
2nd trumpet in C
3rd trumpet in C
1st trombone
2nd trombone
3rd trombone
contrabass tuba
1st percussion
2nd percussion
3rd percussion
piano (+cel)
violin I
violin II
violin III
More Less


Symphony No. 1

The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

Work introduction

If you think that, as a form, the three-movement symphony has had its day, then you haven’t yet heard the Symphony No. 1 of Victoria Borisova-Ollas. A ‘gorgeously orchestrated work of great power and poetry’, it bears the subtitle The Triumph of Heaven, referring to a 1907 painting by Russian artist Kazmir Malevich. The symphony – each movement of which is ten minutes long – was composed in 2001 for the Malmö SO. The opening conveys an impression of the threatening skies looming over St Petersburg in the early twentieth century – a century that brought so much suffering to humanity. This first movement is characterised by a blind pursuit of the Zeitgeist and the desperate struggle to survive. The second is dedicated to silent mourning, and the third takes the listener back to the erratic twentieth century. A symphonic experience.

Special prints

Symphony No. 1

Victoria Borisova-Ollas: Symphony No. 1

full score
for orchestra , 30’
Instr.: 3 3 3 3 - 4 3 3 1 - timp, perc(3), hp, pno, str

Symphony No. 1

Victoria Borisova-Ollas: Symphony No. 1

study score
for orchestra , 30’
Instr.: 3 3 3 3 - 4 3 3 1 - timp, perc(3), hp, pno, str

World première

Concert Hall, Malmö (SE)
Malmö Symfoniorchester
Dmitri Liss

Press reviews

"With her expressive and methaphysical attitude, Victoria Borisova-Ollas is absolutely unique in Sweden. In her Symphony, there is the same nervous touch, the same high tension and hot-temperedness, the same passion for an almost erotic game, with colliding harmonies and extended climaxes, as in Skriabin`s 'Le divine poème'. The excitement lasts through the whole piece. Borisova-Ollas is able to create a charged atmosphere and she knows perfectly well how to use her weapons."

(Thomas Anderberg/Dagens Nyheter, Stockholm)

"Her fantasy for the orchestral sound and it`s colossal dynamic power is impressing... She has a good command of the orchestra and shows both well controlled eruptive energy and glimmering harmonies. The last minutes of her Symphony might feel a little bit eclectic but I found them very gripping. Not only interesting or skilfully written but really gripping."

(Carlhåkan Larsen/Sydsvenska Dagbladet, Malmö)

Other works

Sign up for our newsletter!

You will regularly receive information about new scores with free downloads, current prize games and news about our composers.

Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now