COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Richard Strauss: Concerto

  • No. 1 (1882-1883)
  • in Eb major
  • for horn and orchestra
  • 2 2 2 2 - 2 2 0 0 - timp, str
  • Duration: 19’
  • Soloists:
    horn in F
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st flute
    2nd flute
    1st oboe
    2nd oboe
    1st clarinet in Bb
    2nd clarinet in Bb
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon
    1st horn in Eb
    2nd horn in Eb
    1st trumpet in Eb
    2nd trumpet in Eb
    violin I
    violin II
  • Composer: Richard Strauss
  • Table of contents:
    Konzert für Waldhorn und Orchester Nr. 1
  • Dedication: dem königl. sächs. Kammermusiker Herrn Oscar Franz freundlichst gewidmet
Web Cover

Printed product

Richard Strauss: Concerto No. 1 for horn and orchestra - op. 11 | UE34306

  • Edition type: study score
  • Series: Neue Studienpartituren-Reihe
  • Format: 17.0 × 24.0 cm
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-6695-4
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-08052-4
Product available


The three-movement piece has a traditional fast-slow-fast form, but with individual formal characteristics in each movement. In the very first movement, the soloist begins immediately after a tutti chord, while the orchestral prelude follows later. The key of the following Andante section (A flat minor) with its middle part in E major is also unusual. The final Rondo (Allegro) is interpolated by brief episodes, including a reference to the first movement. This new edition is based on the handwritten manuscript and the first edition of the piano arrangement (published in 1884 by Aibl, no. 2540d), the first print of the score (UE1592), the first edition of the horn part (Aibl no. 2540c) and orchestral parts (Aibl no. 2540b), as well as on the previous editions published by Universal Edition. (Sonja Huber)

Sample Pages


  • Konzert für Waldhorn und Orchester Nr. 1


Additional Editions

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works