COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Franz Strauss: 1. Konzert

  • in C minor
  • for horn and orchestra
  • 1 2 2 2 - 2 2 1 0 - timp, str
  • Duration: 14’
  • Instrumentation details:
    1. oboe
    2. oboe
    1. clarinet in B
    2. clarinet in B
    1. bassoon
    2. bassoon
    1. horn in Eb/C
    2. horn in Eb/C
    1. trumpet in Eb (tpt(C))
    2. trumpet in Eb (tpt(C))
    violin I
    violin II
  • Composer: Franz Strauss
  • Table of contents:
    Konzert für Horn und Orchester op. 8
Web Cover

Printed product

Franz Strauss: Concerto No. 1 for horn and piano - op. 8 | UE1369

  • Edition type: piano reduction
  • Grade: 4-5
  • Edition info: Orchestra material on hire
  • Format: 23.2 × 30.5 cm
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-2134-2
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-01182-5
Product available


Strauss composed his Violin Concerto in 1882, closely followed by the Horn Concerto that same year; it has remained a favourite in the repertoire ever since. The music, especially in the first movement, is reminiscent of Beethoven and Schumann, with a touch of late Romantic style.

Strauss was 19 when he composed the Horn Concerto; surely it was that astonishing maturity which moved Hans von Bülow (who conducted the premiere performance in 1885) to call him a "stripling born old."


  • Konzert für Horn und Orchester op. 8

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works