COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Béla Bartók: Dance Suite

  • in six movements (1923)
  • for orchestra
  • 2 2 2 2 - 4 2 2 1 - timp, perc(3), hp, cel, pno, str
  • Duration: 18’
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st flute (+picc)
    2nd flute (+picc)
    1st oboe
    2nd oboe (+c.a)
    1st clarinet in Bb
    2nd clarinet in Bb (+bass cl(Bb))
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon (+bsn)
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    3rd horn in F
    4th horn in F
    1st trumpet in Bb
    2nd trumpet in Bb
    1st trombone
    2nd trombone
    1st percussion
    2nd percussion
    celesta (+pno)
    violin I
    violin II
  • Composer: Béla Bartók
  • Editor: Peter Bartók
  • Table of contents:
    Allegro molto
    Allegro vivace
    Molto tranquillo
Web Cover

Printed product

Béla Bartók: Dance Suite for orchestra | UE34308

in six movements

  • Edition type: study score
  • Series: Neue Studienpartituren-Reihe
  • Format: 17.0 × 24.0 cm
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-6697-8
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-08054-8
Product available


Bartók's "Dance Suite" was composed in 1923 and premiered in the same year in Budapest. The occasion was the 50th jubilee of the unification of Buda, Óbuda and Pest to Hungary's capital Budapest.

Sample Pages


  • Allegro
  • Allegro molto
  • Allegro vivace
  • Comodo
  • Moderato
  • Molto tranquillo

Additional Editions

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works