COVID-19 Update

Dear customers, we would like to inform you that due to the current situation concerning the novel corona virus, exit restrictions have been imposed in Austria. For this reason we kindly ask you to send all requests in written form to [email protected]. We ask for your patience in case we are not able to process your requests at the usual speed - due to legal regulations, companies in Austria are currently only able to operate at reduced capacity. However, we would like to assure you that Universal Edition will continue to look after its customers in times like these. Best regards, your Universal Edition team.

Darius Milhaud: Der befreite Theseus

  • Duration: 10’
  • Instrumentation details:
    1·1·1·1 - 1·1·0·0 - timp., perc. - str.
  • Choir: SATB (Vokalquartett)
  • Composer: Darius Milhaud
  • Text author: Henri Hoppenot
  • Translator: Karlheinz GutheimWilhelm Reinking
  • Dedication: à E. H.

Work introduction

Between 1917 and 1923, Darius Milhaud wrote six symphonies for small groups of instruments, each lasting a maximum of six minutes. Symphony No. 6 was arranged for four singers and two instruments. In 1927, he wrote three operas, also short and for small groups of instruments. He was not the only composer to be interested in themes from Greek mythology during the 1920s: Stravinsky’s Oedipus received its world première in 1927 and Orff’s Orpheus in 1925. The music is simple and stylised with concise rhythms and a vocal sextet which takes on the role of a classical Greek chorus.


The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works