COVID-19 Update

Dear customers, we would like to inform you that due to the current situation concerning the novel corona virus, exit restrictions have been imposed in Austria. For this reason we kindly ask you to send all requests in written form to [email protected]. We ask for your patience in case we are not able to process your requests at the usual speed - due to legal regulations, companies in Austria are currently only able to operate at reduced capacity. However, we would like to assure you that Universal Edition will continue to look after its customers in times like these. Best regards, your Universal Edition team.

Darius Milhaud: Konzert

  • for percussion and small orchestra
  • 2 0 2 0 - 1 0 1 0 - str(6 6 4 4 2)
  • Duration: 7’
  • Soloists:
  • Instrumentation details:
    2 0 2 0 - 1 0 1 0 - str.: 3. 3. 2. 2. 1
  • Composer: Darius Milhaud
  • Dedication: à Paul Collaer


Work specifications


Publication Information

Please check again the data you have given - thank you very much.

The license as well as our terms and conditions are available in writing. By clicking the button "Send inquiry", you submit your data, which are checked by the Universal Edition. The Universal Edition is free to provide you with an offer on the basis of your information. From the transmission of your request, no claim can be derived for a license.

Work introduction

I have always been very interested in percussion problems. In the Choéphores and in L’homme et son désir I used massive percussion. Is it the research done by Berlioz in this field that led me in that direction? Maybe! After the audition of Choéphores in Brussels, an excellent kettledrummer, Theo Coutelier, who had a percussion class in Schaerbeek near Brussels, asked me if I would like to write a concerto for only one percussion performer. He wished to use his piece for his examinations. The idea appealed to me, and this is how I came to compose the concerto. The school at Schaerbeek had only a few orchestral musicians: two flutes, two clarinets, one trumpet, one trombone and strings. The concerto consists of two parts connected together. It is a dramatic work. In view of the fact that when I composed it (between 1929 and 1930 in Paris), jazz was enjoying a decisive influence on musical composition. I wanted to avoid at any cost the thought that anyone might think in that kind of work, and so I therefore stressed the rough and dramatic part of the piece. This was also why I did not write a cadence and always refused that anyone adds one on.

The debut of the Concerto was given under my direction by Theo Coutelier, at the Palais des Beaux-Arts, in Brussels, in 1930. I will add that I am always pleasantly surprised to see that this concerto is often performed in high schools in the United States by young students who play by heart and brilliantly.

Darius Milhaud


The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

World première

Palais des Beaux-Arts, Bruxelles (BE)
Darius Milhaud
Main soloists:
Theo Coutelier, percussion

Press reviews

‘The composer has here succeeded in producing a piece of music whose vital force is as much rhythmic as soloistic, which proceeds in a carefree fashion yet now and then bares its teeth, and is assured of its effect’ (Josef Häusler).

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works