Wolfgang Rihm: Die Hamletmaschine

  • Opera in 5 parts (1983-1986)
  • 2 2 2 2 - 4 3 3 1 - timp, perc(6), pno, str(14 12 10 8 6)
  • Duration: 90’
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st flute(1) (+picc)
    2nd flute(1) (+picc)
    1st oboe(1) (+bass cl)
    2nd oboe(1) (+c.a)
    1st clarinet in A(1) (+cl(Eb))
    2nd clarinet in A(1) (+bass cl(Bb)
    1st bassoon(1)
    2nd bassoon(1) (+cbsn)
    1st horn in F(1)
    2nd horn in F(1)
    3rd horn in F(1)
    4th horn in F(1)
    1st trumpet in C(1)
    2nd trumpet in C(1)
    3rd trumpet(1) (+trumpet, high)
    1st trombone(1) (+bass tpt)
    2nd trombone(1)
    3rd trombone(1)
    contrabass tuba(1)
    1st percussion(2)
    2nd percussion(2)
    3rd percussion(2)
    violin I(14)
    violin II(12)
    double bass(6)
  • Choir: SATB (auch Sprechchor): mind. 12S, 12A, 12T, 12B
  • Roles: Hamlet I (aged actor) Hamlet II (young actor) Hamlet III (baritone) Ophelia (Wagnerian soprano) 3 Ophelia-Doubles: Marx, Lenin, Mao - 3 "naked women", "voices from the casket" (1st very high soprano, 2nd soprano and 3rd mezzo-soprano) 4 laughing people (2 women, 2 men) 3 screaming people (men) some silent parts
  • Composer: Wolfgang Rihm
  • Librettist: Wolfgang Rihm
  • Writer of pre-existing text: Heiner Müller
Web Cover

Printed product

Wolfgang Rihm: Die Hamletmaschine  | UE18660

Music Theatre in 5 Parts

  • Edition type: score
  • Languages: German
  • Format: 23.2 × 30.5 cm
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-5388-6
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-04161-7
This product is currently not available.
This product is currently not available.

General information on Die Hamletmaschine von Wolfgang Rihm

Work introduction


Sample pages

World première

Nationaltheater, Mannheim (DE)
Orchester des Nationaltheaters
Peter Schneider
Main soloists:
Kurt Müller-Graf - Hamlet I, Rudolf Kowalski - Hamlet II, Johannes M. Kösters - Hamlet III, Gabriele Schnaut - Ophelia

Press reviews

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works