COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Dmitri Schostakowitsch: 5. Symphonie

  • in D minor
  • for orchestra
  • 3 2 3 3 - 4 3 3 1 - Tamburo militare, timp, perc, hp, pno, tr, b.d, glock, str
  • Duration: 45’
  • Instrumentation details:
    3 2 3 3 - 4 3 3 1 - timp, perc, glock, xyl, 2 hp, cel, pno, str
  • Composer: Dmitri Schostakowitsch

arrangements & translations

Work specifications



Arrangement Information

Please check again the data you have given - thank you very much.

The license as well as our terms and conditions are available in writing. By clicking the button "Submit" you submit your data, which are checked by the Universal Edition. The Universal Edition is free to provide you with an offer on the basis of your information. From the transmission of your request, no claim can be derived for a license.

Work introduction

Shostakovich began working on his Fifth Symphony on 18 April 1937 in Crimea, completing it on 20 July in Leningrad. In the meantime, his brother-in-law had been arrested and his sister deported to Siberia; these conditions explain Shostakovich’s statement that his Fifth was “the creative answer of a Soviet artist to just criticism,” and the furious, overstated jubilation of the finale convinced the functionaries. Apparently, the work received over a half an hour of thunderous applause at its premiere on 21 November 1937 under Yevgeny Mravinsky.

The writing is markedly reduced in comparison to the foregoing symphonies, falling back on late Romantic gestus; yet the quasi enforced change in style is cryptically turned about in a positive manner – the debate continues as to whether the ending was really intended that way.


The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

World première

Leningrad (RU)

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works