COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Dmitri Schostakowitsch: The Golden Age

  • for orchestra
  • 2 2 3 2 - 4 3 3 1 - timp, perc(5), harm, sop.sax, bar, str
  • Duration: 16’
  • Instrumentation details:
    2 2 3 soprano sax. 2 - 4 3 3 1 baritone - timp., perc.(4), xyl. - harm. - str.
  • Composer: Dmitri Schostakowitsch
  • Table of contents:

Work introduction

Like Schostakowitsch's first opera, The Nose, so is his first ballet, The Golden Age, music of the twenties: sarcastic, witty, with motoric verve, colorfully orchestrated, a kind of musical grimace. Schostakowitsch chose four movements of the ballet for a suite (16'), whose lasting popularity can also be measured by the number of arrangements - for brass sextet, brass ensemble, brass quintet, etc. The third movement, Polka, is also set as an independent piece - an ideal encore.


The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works