COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Egon Wellesz: Konzert

  • for piano and orchestra
  • Duration: 20’
  • Instrumentation details:
    2 2 2 2 - 4 2 1 0 - str
  • Composer: Egon Wellesz

Work introduction

In his 20-minute Piano Concerto, Schönberg student Egon Wellesz proved himself an outstanding connoisseur of musical history, presenting a kind of pastiche in this work. With its motor rhythms, the first movement is neoclassical with echoes of Bach (one quotation strongly calls to mind the Piano Concerto in D Minor). The second movement is reminiscent of Rachmaninoff; the sub-theme has a definite, Mussorgsky-style Russian character. The third movement is the most varied, moving through a fantastic panorama from Beethoven to Liszt to Weill.


The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works