COVID-19 Update

Dear customers, we would like to inform you that due to the current situation concerning the novel corona virus, exit restrictions have been imposed in Austria. For this reason we kindly ask you to send all requests in written form to [email protected]. We ask for your patience in case we are not able to process your requests at the usual speed - due to legal regulations, companies in Austria are currently only able to operate at reduced capacity. However, we would like to assure you that Universal Edition will continue to look after its customers in times like these. Best regards, your Universal Edition team.

Ernst Krenek: 1. Symphonie

  • for orchestra
  • Duration: 31’
  • Instrumentation details:
    2 2 4 3 - 4 2 3 1 - timp, perc - str
  • Composer: Ernst Krenek
  • Remarks: Study score available at Musikproduktion Höflich:

Work introduction

This is a piece of music by a brilliant young man who was open to all new ideas. After tackling the string quartet genre in his Opus 6, he then turned to the symphony. Ernst Krenek composed restless music with harsh harmonies, strong gestures – frequently recalling mime – and brief lyrical passages in which the sound gains in transparency and brightness. According to Krenek’s autobiography, the score for Symphony No. 1 was influenced by in-depth studies of Mahler’s Symphonies, as well as Arnold Schönberg’s first two String Quartets and Chamber Symphony.


World première

Berlin (DE)
Hermann Scherchen

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works