COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Ernst Krenek: Double Concerto for violin, piano and chamber orchestra (1950)

  • for violin, piano and chamber orchestra
  • Duration: 20’
  • Instrumentation details:
    2 2 2 2 - 2 2 1 0 - str
  • Composer: Ernst Krenek
  • Dedication: written for Maro and Anahid Ajemian

Work introduction

The Double Concerto consists of seven sections, played without interruption. A brief introduction is followed by a vigorous Allegro, which contains a brief Cadenza for the violin.

Section Number three takes up the character and some motives of the introduction. It is followed by a set of Theme and five Variations. The fifth section is a slow movement in which the ideas of the introduction are elaborated upon. A short recapitulation of the Allegro follows, including a Cadenza for the piano. The finale has the character of a Laendler; it presents again the initial ideas in varied shapes. The composition is based on a twelve-tone row.

Ernst Krenek


The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

World première

Donaueschingen (DE)

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works