COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Franz Schmidt: Symphony No. 4

  • in C major
  • for orchestra
  • 2 3 3 3 - 4 3 3 1 - timp, perc(3), hp(2), str
  • Duration: 46’
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st flute
    2nd flute (+picc)
    1st oboe
    2nd oboe
    cor anglais
    clarinet in Eb
    1st clarinet in Bb
    2nd clarinet in Bb
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    3rd horn in F
    4th horn in F
    1st trumpet in C
    2nd trumpet in C
    3rd trumpet in C
    1st trombone
    2nd trombone
    3rd trombone
    bass tuba
    1st harp
    2nd harp
    violin I
    violin II
  • Composer: Franz Schmidt
  • Preface: Karl Trötzmüller
  • Translator: Eugene Hartzell
  • Table of contents:
    Vierte Symphonie
  • Dedication: Oswald Kabasta gewidmet
  • Remarks: 2nd movement - requiem for his daughter Study score available at Musikproduktion Höflich:

Work introduction

When Franz Schmidt's 4. Symphonie received its world première in 1934, Paul Stefan wrote in the music journal Anbruch: “As well as the novelty and audacity of form, what really makes this work stand out is the confession-box honesty of its sound language that refuses to bow to convention and that can be understood by everyone – making it anything but banal. It is not easy to perform, even if it barely presents any difficulties to the listener. The long breath of this speech, which never seems long-winded or pompous, is a particular pleasure. Overall, the piece has an elegant, natural decorum.”


World première

Wiener Musikverein, Großer Saal, Wien (AT)
Oswald Kabasta

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works