COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Franz Schubert: Deutsche Tänze

(Arranger: Anton Webern)

  • op. posth. / D 820
  • for orchestra
  • 2 2 2 2 - 2 0 0 0, str
  • Duration: 9’
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st flute
    2nd flute
    1st oboe
    2nd oboe
    1st clarinet in Bb
    2nd clarinet in Bb
    1st bassoon
    2nd bassoon
    1st horn in F
    2nd horn in F
    violin I
    violin II
  • Composer: Franz Schubert
  • Arranger: Anton Webern

Work introduction

Anton Webern arranged Franz Schubert’s six Deutsche Tänze for piano, D820, in 1931 for chamber orchestra, woodwind and two horns. His alterations are limited to occasional separation of the parts, bringing out the solo lines. Webern aimed to allow the structure of the work to emerge more clearly, while retaining a sound similar to Schubert’s. The result is a miracle of precision, tonal differentiation and glowingly shaded colours.


Sample pages

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works