COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Franz Schubert: Gretchen am Spinnrade

(Arranger: Max Reger)

  • in D minor
  • for high voice and orchestra
  • 1 1 2 1 - 1 0 0 0 - timp, str
  • Duration: 4’
  • Soloists:
    high voice
  • Instrumentation details:
    1st clarinet in Bb
    2nd clarinet in Bb
    horn in F
    violin I
    violin II
  • Composer: Franz Schubert
  • Arranger: Max Reger
  • Text author: Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

Work introduction

Near the end of his short life, Reger undertook a number of orchestral arrangements of Schubert Lieder. The scoring attests to the German composer’s mastery; the instrumental voices remain in the background, coming to the fore only at moments of dramatic outburst, leaving the listener with the impression of hearing scenes from music dramas.

Reger’s important arrangements have enriched the repertoire of orchestra Lieder.


The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works