COVID-19 Update

Despite the problems caused by the Corona-virus our Webshop and the contact forms on our website are fully available. You may also address your inquiries to Thank you for your understanding if our answer takes longer as usual because of the current restrictions. Your Universal Edition Team

Franz Strauss: 1. Konzert

  • in C minor
  • for horn and orchestra
  • 1 2 2 2 - 2 2 1 0 - timp, str
  • Duration: 14’
  • Instrumentation details:
    1. oboe
    2. oboe
    1. clarinet in B
    2. clarinet in B
    1. bassoon
    2. bassoon
    1. horn in Eb/C
    2. horn in Eb/C
    1. trumpet in Eb (tpt(C))
    2. trumpet in Eb (tpt(C))
    violin I
    violin II
  • Composer: Franz Strauss
  • Table of contents:
    Konzert für Horn und Orchester op. 8


Work specifications


Publication Information

Please check again the data you have given - thank you very much.

The license as well as our terms and conditions are available in writing. By clicking the button "Send inquiry", you submit your data, which are checked by the Universal Edition. The Universal Edition is free to provide you with an offer on the basis of your information. From the transmission of your request, no claim can be derived for a license.

Work introduction

If we wish to know how well Franz Strauss, the long-time solo hornist of the Munich Royal Court Opera, played his instrument, all we need do is listen to his Concerto for Horn. In the first place, the music sounds quite conservative – and he never made a secret of the fact that he cared not a whit about the musical world of his time. But then there are difficult, virtuosic passages; no wonder Hans von Bülow called the older Strauss the Joseph Joachim of the horn.

The concerto is in one movement. With its dotted rhythms, the introduction in the orchestra suggests a march; the melody could definitely serve as a hymn. As soon as the solo horn takes over the leading role, a gentle, almost nostalgic atmosphere predominates; it returns several times in the course of the piece.

His son Richard Strauss was 18 when he turned to composing a horn concerto; following in his father’s footsteps, he likewise wrote a lyrical piece of music. He composed his second horn concerto in 1942, 60 years later.


The complete perusal score (PDF-preview)

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works