COVID-19 Update

Dear customers, we would like to inform you that due to the current situation concerning the novel corona virus, exit restrictions have been imposed in Austria. For this reason we kindly ask you to send all requests in written form to [email protected]. We ask for your patience in case we are not able to process your requests at the usual speed - due to legal regulations, companies in Austria are currently only able to operate at reduced capacity. However, we would like to assure you that Universal Edition will continue to look after its customers in times like these. Best regards, your Universal Edition team.

Friedrich Cerha: 5 Sätze

  • for violin, violoncello and piano
  • Duration: 22’
  • Instrumentation details:
  • Composer: Friedrich Cerha

Work introduction

Shortly after Friedrich Cerha presented his first piano trio (at age 79), Universal Edition asked him for a short piece with the same instrumental combination; the result, lasting three minutes, is called Parabola. Prior to its premiere performance in late 2007 four other short trios were finished; the entire composition was premiered in 2008. According to Cerha, he waited until he had come to terms with the piano trio genre because the predominant role of the piano in its literature had bothered him. He undertook to write a work in which all three instruments featured equally: “It was important for me above all to respect the instruments’ widely individual articulation. Of course, the two string instruments approach each other more closely and confront the piano.”


World première

Konzerthaus, Wien (AT)
Main soloists:
Wiener Klaviertrio: Wolfgang Redik, vl; Matthias Gredler, vc; Stefan Mendl, pn

Previously Viewed Works

No previously viewed works